“Crippled” – A Poem

“Crippled” – A Poem

Note: This is my very first amateur attempt at writing a poem, so please don’t judge me, I just wanted to put my feelings in (not so accurately) rhyming words.

Also I’d like to thank you in advance for taking out your precious time to read my silly poem :)

“Crippled”

The scars and wounds of my shattered past,

Have crippled my sense of trust,

I’ve been told to get over those memories,

In my heart I also know I must,

For there are people who truly love me,

And mistreating them is not at all just,

..

But the scars and wounds of my shattered past,

Have crippled my sense of trust..

..

I used to be carefree and serene,

There was nothing that could put me down,

But then came the winds of deceit and treachery,

Which dragged me from Heaven and slammed me on the filthy ground,

I looked about and realized I’m lying in a meadow of roses,

All blooming and lovely; O how they filled me with hope that was utterly profound,

But when I tried to pluck one away; well you know how it goes,

The thorns left me smothered in blood, and my trembling lips could no longer make a sound..

..

From that day on if anyone asks me; why so bitter and cruel, so ruthless and unjust?

I can only smile and say with my tears seeping down into the dust,

That the scars and wounds of my shattered past,

Have crippled my sense of trust.

2 thoughts on ““Crippled” – A Poem

    1. Thank you so much :) And yes there are so many beautiful people here on WordPress, no one is mean or judgemental :) I’m very glad to be sharing my thoughts here!

Leave a Comment :)

