My Most Awaited Book-to-Film Adaptation

My Most Awaited Book-to-Film Adaptation

I have read many Young Adult fiction books in the past year. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (whose movie was just fabulous, although the book was better), The Hunger Games (one of the coolest adaptations I’ve seen, even though I didn’t like they cut-off all the violence to make it PG-13), It’s Kind of a Funny Story (the book and the movie both helped me through a very tough time in my life, God bless the writer and creators of the movie) and many other books who I wish were adapted on screen. Most of those books belong to a very special, talented and brilliant writer Mr. John Green.

Anything he writes is a work of art. His witty humor, his extraordinary characters, the unusual storylines, the way he digs deep in your heart and pulls the strings, and in the end you’re just left in awe. Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns, An Abundance of Katherines, all of them left me laughing and teary eyed. But there is one book I will always hold close to my heart, a book that left me speechless. A book that devastated me. A book that made my heart soar with sorrow and joy at the same time. That book was The Fault in Our Stars.

The Fault in Our Stars Cover

Here is an excerpt from the Goodreads page of The Fault in Our Stars about the plotline:

“Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.”

This plotline description gives away NOTHING of the brilliance and intensity of this breathtaking novel. I won’t give away any spoilers for those who haven’t read it yet but I’ll just tell you this that I had never cried like a little baby while reading any book. It wasn’t just a “tear-jerker”, it was a “waterfall-of-blubbering-and-wailing-jerker”. For me atleast. I’m a big crier. Especially when it comes to love stories.

“It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.” – Augustus Waters

It wasn’t just your typical “girl with a scarred past meets a hunky bad boy and they fall in love” kind of romance. What makes this novel so brilliant and unconventional is that both the main leads are suffering from a life threatening disease. Hazel Grace has Stage 4 Thyroid Cancer (who has managed to fight it due to a medicine called Phalanxifor). Augustus Waters on the other hand has Osteosarcoma which is the most basic form of Bone Cancer (and he also is in remission).

The reader just knows they are doomed from the beginning but despite that we keep hoping that they never relapse and live happily ever after. Maybe they do, maybe they don’t. I would suggest you to read the book and find out for yourself.

“She is so beautiful. You don’t get tired of looking at her. You never worry if she is smarter than you: You know she is. She is funny without ever being mean. I love her. I am so lucky to love her. You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers.” – Augustus Waters

This is how I had pictured Hazel and Augustus in my mind. This fan made picture is just perfect <3

Hazel and Augustus

Only a short time after finishing the book I came across the news of a movie adaptation. And I was like “Whaaaatttt?? No waaayyy :D Oh my God oh my God oh my God!” like a little school girl. And the icing on the cake was that Shailene Woodley will be cast as Hazel and Ansel Elgort as Augustus :D

Shailene and Ansel

I mean look at them. It’s like a couple made in Heaven! I’ve been Shailene Woodley’s fan since she dazzled me with her performance in The Descendants and has already worked in another brilliant book-to-movie adaptation which gained her immense recognition from the lead role in The Spectacular Now (I still haven’t seen it, I plan to once it’s released on DVD). And plus she has also worked in ANOTHER movie adaptation of the book Divergent, which I am very very excited for. I don’t know much about Ansel (only this that he is also cast alongside Shailene in Divergent too) but he sure do LOOKS the role of Augustus. I hope and pray the TFiOS team does complete and utter justice to this magnificent work of art!

So yes ladies and gentlemen The Fault in Our Stars is my MOST awaited movie adaptation this year. Even Catching Fire comes on #2 for me. In the end I would share another heartbreaking and marvellous line from the book. Makes you wish someone somewhere was out there just waiting to say this to you :) <3

“I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.” – Augustus Waters

3 thoughts on “My Most Awaited Book-to-Film Adaptation

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

Leave a Comment :)

